Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Saturday, January 12, 2013

Ansonia's Arkeel Newsome named Walter Camp Player of Year


Ansonia junior running back Arkeel Newsome was named the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year at the annual Breakfast of Champions on Saturday.

Newsome, who rushed for 2,245 yards and 38 touchdowns for the Class S state champion Chargers, won the award for the second straight season.  Other finalists included: Xavier senior quarterback Tim Boyle and Hand senior linebacker Matt Walsh.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by NFP Sports, was presented to the family of the late Jack Hunt, former head coach at Ansonia High School who won seven state titles during his 19 seasons (193-26 record).

Hand, the Class L champion and state’s top-ranked team with a perfect 13-0 record, was honored along with the three other state champions – Xavier (Class LL, 12-1 overall record), Hillhouse (Class M, 11-2 overall record) and Ansonia (Class S, 14-0 overall record).

The state’s Coach of the Year award, presented by Stadium System, was shared by two coaches from the Southern Connecticut Conference whose teams won state titles in 2012 - Steve Filippone (Hand) and Tom Dyer (Hillhouse).  The other finalist was Tom Brockett (Ansonia). 


QB: Tim Boyle (Xavier)
RB: Arkeel Newsome (Ansonia), Harold Cooper (Hillhouse)
WR: Andrew Matos (Ansonia), Kris Luster (Xavier)
TE: Andrew Isaacs (Manchester)
OL: Hector Rodriguez (Berlin), Jacob Basilica (Montville), Kyle Vaughn (Staples), Michael LaSala (Wilton), Max Schumann (Xavier)

LB: Mike Jones (Capital Prep), Matt Walsh (Daniel Hand), Marquis Little (Manchester), Max Tylki (Xavier)
DB: Andre Anderson (Hillhouse), Joey Paparelli (Norwich Free Academy), Justin Potts (Platt), James Frusciante (Staples)
DL: Peter Gerson (Daniel Hand), Kyle Wilson (Ledyard), Tuzar Skipper (Norwich Free Academy), Cole Ormsby (Windsor)

Kicker: Ed Groth (Shelton)
Punter:  Michael Nichol (Wolcott)
Returner:  Thomas Milone (Masuk) 

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Register All-State Team

will run on Sunday, Jan. 13, featuring a 13-player offense and a 13-player defense, including the state MVP, and the Coach of the Year.

There will also be selections for Second Team, Third Team and Honorable Mention.

Labels: ,