Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Friday, November 28, 2008

Hillhouse (and other) site changes

The Class MM state semifinal between No. 3 Darien (10-1) and No. 2 Hillhouse (11-0) will be played at West Haven High School.

In Class L, No. 4 Windsor (9-2) plays No. 2 Masuk (10-1) at Trumbull High School.

In Class M, No. 4 Avon (9-2) plays No. 1 Brookfield (10-1) at Danbury High School.

These games are still set for Tuesday at 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, November 27, 2008

Playoff Pairings Set

Here is a rundown of the state playoff semifinal pairings, pending approval by the CIAC football committee, which will meet on Friday at 9 a.m.

All games are at 6:30 p.m. at the site of the higher seed. The finals are on Saturday Dec. 6 at times and sites still to be announced.

No. 4 Newtown (9-2) at No. 1 Glastonbury (11-0)
No. 3 Cheshire (9-2) at No. 2 Hamden (9-2)

No. 4 Windsor (9-2) at No. 1 Masuk (10-1)
No. 3 Newington (9-2) at No. 2 Simsbury (9-2)

No. 4 Weaver (8-3) at No. 1 New Canaan (11-0)
No. 3 Darien (10-1) vs. No. 2 Hillhouse (11-0) at Veterans Field, West Haven*

No. 4 Avon (9-2) at No. 1 Brookfield (10-1)
No. 3 Cheney Tech (10-0) at No. 2 Ledyard (9-2)

No. 4 Montville (9-2) at No. 1 New London (10-1)
No. 3 Rocky Hill (10-1) at No. 2 Seymour (10-1)

No. 4 Hyde (9-2) vs. No. 1 Cromwell at Falcon Field, Meriden*
No. 3 North Branford (10-1) at No. 2 Ansonia (11-1)

(*) indicates a site that is still unofficial

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Enfield coach suspension overturned

A CIAC committee has reviewed the appeal of Enfield High School principal Thomas E. Duffy of the suspension of his school's head football coach Jay Gaucher for violation of the football score management policy. Gaucher had been suspended for his team's next game because his team's margin of victory last Friday exceeded 50 points in its 52-0 win over Wilcox Tech.

Based on the information presented the five-person committee voted unanimously to remove the suspension. The information showed that the conditions under which the game was conducted and the strategies which were implemented did not constitute unsportsmanlike conduct in accordance with the criteria established by the CIAC football committee.

Gaucher's team made a reasonable effort to keep the score down by doing things such as removing starters, limiting the passing game (Enfield attempted just three passes in the contest), modifying game play on defense, and using a running clock.

The above facts were attested to by officials from both schools involved and the game officials who worked the contest. The committee believed that the intent of the 50 point rule was not violated and that there was no attempt on the part of Enfield to embarrass its opponent.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Players Honored

Cal Smith, a Milford resident who is a captain at Cheshire Academy, was a recipient of the coaches Award and the Cheshire Academy Trustees Award at an awards banquet earlier this month.

The Trustees Award was given to Cal because of his leadership, scholarship, and trustworthiness.

Tanya Bierwirth (Cheshire Academy Assistant Director of athletics) said of Cal that "this young man has had an extremely positive impact on the overall Cheshire Academy community in so many ways throughout his time here and for that, he will be sorely missed when he moves on next year."

Smith with the male Trustees Award, for the fall season 2008. Smith has a 3.5 grade average.

Cheshire Academy went 8-1 and won the NEPSAC Austin Bowl after a 14-7 victory over Tilton Academy. Smith made two tackles that stopped touchdowns.


Joe Lasko of North Branford has been nominated as an Old Spice Red Zone Player of the Year.

As a result of this achievement, Lasko is among a select group of players who are eligible to be selected as a national Red Zone Player of the Year and be honored in a full-page feature in USA Today in February.

For the eighth straight year, Old Spice is recognizing high school football players who go above and beyond the call of duty, particularly in the Red Zone. The program honors athletes who are able to elevate their play and step up when the heat is really on. These athletes embody leadership, performance and desire, and serve as examples to their teammates on and off the field. High school coaches across the country are naming one player from their team as their Player of the Year. Each team's player of the year will receive a certificate to acknowledge his accomplishment.

Lasko is also eligible to be named one of 50 national Players of the Year. The top 50 players nationwide will be named Red Zone Players of the Year and will receive a plaque and other awards.