Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Friday, March 23, 2012

Roberts resigns at O'Brien Tech

Ken Roberts has resigned as the football coach at O'Brien Tech after one season, athletic director Dan Nemergut confirmed Friday.

The Condors went 3-7 in their inaugural season this past fall.

"Ken is not coming back," Nemergut said. "He resigned last Wednesday. It was his decision. He thought the only way he could do the job correctly is if he had a position in the building, which he does not."

Nemergut added that he was happy with Roberts' efforts. Nemergut said the job opening has been posted.


Thursday, March 22, 2012

Governor's Cup Combine

Tryouts will take place this weekend for athletes looking to represent Connecticut in the annual Governors's Cup game against Rhode Island. The game is June 30 at Rentschler Field in East Hartford at 4:30 p.m.

When: Sunday, March 25th
Where: Floyd Little Athletic Center, New Haven
Time: Registration begins at 11:30 a.m. Tryouts begin at 12:30 p.m.
What to wear: Shorts, T-shirts and sneakers. (Shirt
with your high school on it if possible).
Please Note: You must be a senior and have finished your
season in good standing.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Xavier signees

Information from Xavier coach Sean Marinan.

RB Mike Mastroianni will attend Springfield.
RB Matt Craig is headed to St. Lawrence.
LB Ryan Craig has decided on Assumption.

Labels: ,

Monday, March 19, 2012

National 7-on-7 Tournament Results

Information sent by Jack Cochran.

18 players from Connecticut competed in a National 7-on-7 Tournament in Philadelphia this past weekend.

The team went 5-1 and advanced to the semifinals.

Team CT members:

Tim Boyle QB Xavier
Harold Cooper OLB Hillhouse
Ashton Grant DB Manchester
Nick Linta WR Hamden Hall
Chris Luster FS Xavier
Andrew Matos WR Ansonia
Jevaughn Moore C Hillhouse
Tommy Myers TE Coventry
Arkeel Newsome RB/OLB Ansonia
Marcus Outlow RB/OLB NFA
Jason Piontkowski WR/FS Masuk
Justin Potts C Platt
Connor Rowe QB Ridgefield
Anthony Scirpo WR Woodland
Austin Tautkus WR Ellington
Keyshawn Thomas OLB Bridgeport Central
Mike Whalen WR Hamden Hall
Jalon White C North Haven