Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Notre Dame wins Kelly Award

Notre Dame-West Haven, the No. 1 in the final Register Top 10 Poll, New London Day, and Hartford Courant season-ending polls, has won the Walter Camp Football Foundation's Joseph W. Kelly Award, which is awarded annually to the state's top high school football team.

It is the second time that Notre Dame (11-1) has earned the Award (also in 1991). It also marks the seventh time since 1994 that a Southern Connecticut Conference school has earned the Kelly Award (Cheshire 1994 and 1995; Hand 1997, 2004; West Haven 2002).

The team will be honored at a banquet on Jan. 16, 2010.

Past winners are:
2008 New Canaan
2007 Ansonia
2006 Ansonia
2005 Xavier
2004 Hand
2003 New Britain
2002 West Haven
2001 New Britain
2000 Fitch
1999 Bloomfield
1998 Bloomfield
1997 Hand
1996 Weaver
1995 Cheshire
1994 Cheshire
1993 Cheshire
1992 Cheshire
1991 Notre Dame-West Haven
1990 Derby
1989 Ansonia
1988 Stratford
1987 East Catholic
1986 Trumbull
1985 Hillhouse
1984 Middletown
1983 Ansonia
1982 St. Joseph
1981 Naugatuck
1980 Trumbull
1979 Newington
1978 Amity
1977 Trumbull
1976 Fitch


Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Bassick wins First Place in video contest

The Bassick football team was awarded a first place prize of $10,000 in the Friday Night Feats Video Contest sponsored by State Farm.

Mount Mansfield Union High School of Jericho, VT, was the grand prize winner. Their video was chosen by fans from across the country as high school football's biggest moment of the year and earned the school $15,000.

The second prize of $5,000 was awarded to Rockdale High School of Rockdale, TX for their big moment. The three winning videos also earned $2,500 as a Zone winner.

State Farm's panel of judges - pro football Hall of Fame lineman Anthony Munoz; Recruiting Experts Scott Kennedy, Steve Robertson and Brandon Huffman; and Kid Reporter Daniel Radov - selected 10 big moments from the 51 plays fans voted as Zone winners.