Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Thursday, January 8, 2009

New Canaan honored with Camp award

Unbeaten New Canaan (13-0), which won the Class MM state title and finished as the No. 1 team in the final Register Top 10 Poll, will receive the Walter Camp Football Foundation Joseph W. Kelly Award, presented annually to Connecticut's top high school football team.

It is the fourth time, and first since 1986, that a FCIAC school has earned the Kelly Trophy. Trumbull has won it three times (1977, 1980 and 1986).

The Rams will be honored at Walter Camp's annual awards banquet on Saturday Jan. 17 at the the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Earlier that day, New Canaan, and the five other state champions (Glastonbury, Masuk, Brookfield, New London and Cromwell) will be honored at the Breakfast of Champions at 9 a.m. at Anthony's Ocean View in New Haven.

In addition to honoring the six state champions, presentations of the 2008 Connecticut High School Football Coach and Player of the Year will be made.

The three finalists for the Coach of the Year award are: Scott Benoit (Hamden), Lou Marinelli (New Canaan) and Sal Morello (Cromwell).

The three finalists for the Player of the Year award are: Jordan Brown (Glastonbury), Mike Osiecki (Seymour) and Billy Ragone (Cheshire).


All-State Page

To view the New Haven Register Football All-State page, which includes discussion by the all-state players as to which conference in the state is the best, a profile on state MVP Jordan Brown and lists of past all-state teams, please visit

To view our discussion board, please visit,