Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Monday, January 24, 2011

Dobbs named CHSCA POY

Ansonia running back Montrell Dobbs was named the Connecticut High School Coaches Association Player of the Year at the annual football banquet held Sunday at the AquaTurf.

Dobbs rushed for 3,445 yards and 45 touchdowns as a senior, while leading the Chargers to an 11-2 record and an appearance in the Class S state championship game.

Other award winners included:

Class LL MVP: Graham Stewart, Xavier
Class L MVP: Kevin Macari, New Canaan
Class M MVP: Max DeLorenzo, Berlin
Class S MVP: Tyler Matakevich, St. Joseph
Team of Year: Xavier
Scholar Athlete Award: Pat Murray, Staples. Murray will play at Yale in the fall.

Award winners were limited to seniors, and to players who made the CHSCA overall all-state team. MVPs were chosen among the Top 3 vote-getters in each class using the previously mentioned criteria.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home