Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Xavier to receive Kelly award

Via press release:

Xavier, the consensus No. 1 team in the Register Top 10 poll, is the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s choice to receive the Joseph W. Kelly Award, which is awarded annually to Connecticut’s top high school football team.

It is the second straight year and third time overall that Xavier has earned the award. It is also the third consecutive year a team from the Southern Connecticut Conference has won the honor (Notre Dame-W.H, 2009). The Falcons are also the fourth team to repeat as Kelly Award recipients, joining Ansonia (2006-07), Bloomfield (1998-99) and four-time winner Cheshire (2002-05).

Xavier (13-0) captured the SCC Division I West title on its way to a perfect 10-0 regular-season record. In the state playoffs, the Falcons outscored its three playoff opponents 131-27.

Xavier was the first SCC team to score 500 points in a season, averaging 42.6 points game. The Falcons’ defense allowed just 103 points in 13 games (7.9 points a game). Xavier currently holds a 26-game winning streak.

It is the ninth time since the SCC was founded in 1994 that one of its league teams has captured the Kelly Award (Xavier 2005, 2010 and 2011; Cheshire 1994 and 1995; Hand 1997 and 2004; West Haven 2002; and Notre Dame 2009).

Coach Sean Marinan and the Xavier team, along with members of the 2011 Walter Camp All-America team, will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet on Saturday, January 14, 2012 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home