Blogs > GameTimeCT Football

A look at high school football throughout the state

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Xavier to receive Kelly Award

Via press release

Xavier, which was ranked No. 1 in the final Register poll, is the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s choice to receive the Joseph W. Kelly Award, which is awarded annually to Connecticut’s top high school football team.

It is the second time that Xaver (13-0) has earned the Kelly Award (2005).
It is also the second straight year a team from the SCC has won the honor
(Notre Dame of West Haven).

“Xavier certainly distinguished itself after going undefeated in the
competitive Southern Connecticut Conference and then winning three games to
capture the Class LL state championship,” said Walter Camp Football
Foundation President Alphonse Paolillo, Jr. “We salute Coach Sean Marinan,
his staff and players on a tremendous season and a job well done.”

Xavier captured the SCC Division I West title on its way to a perfect 10-0
regular-season record. In the newly-expanded state playoffs, Xavier used a
stellar defense to capture the Class LL title. The Falcons held its three
playoff opponents – all of whom were averaging over 31 points a game – to
just 33 total points – the lowest among the four state champions.

In the quarterfinals, Xavier defeated SCC-rival West Haven, 28-7, and then
defeated Glastonbury, 24-13, in the semifinals. On Friday, December 10,
the Falcons held Trumbull to just nine first downs and 209 total yards in a
24-13 victory in the Class LL championship game.

It is the eighth time since the SCC was founded in 1994 that one of its
league teams captured the Kelly Award (Xavier 2005 and 2010; Cheshire 1994
and 1995; Hand 1997 and 2004; West Haven 2002; and Notre Dame 2009).

Coach Marinan and the Xavier team, along with members of the 2010 Walter
Camp All-America team, will be honored at the organization’s national
awards banquet on Saturday, January 15, 2011 at the Yale University Commons
in New Haven.

In addition, the Foundation will recognize three individuals – NFL
Hall-of-Famer Chuck Bednarik (Pennsylvania) and former NFL All-Pros Will
Shields (Nebraska) and Tedy Bruschi (Arizona) – with major awards. The
Foundation is offering a "Holiday Ticket Promotion" for the National Awards
Dinner. Buy two tickets for $400 (you save $150) before December 31.
Please call (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267).

Kelly Award winners by year
2010 – Xavier (Middletown)
2009 – Notre Dame (West Haven)
2008 – New Canaan
2007 – Ansonia
2006 – Ansonia
2005 – Xavier (Middletown)
2004 – Daniel Hand (Madison)
2003 – New Britain
2002 – West Haven
2001 – New Britain
2000 – Fitch (Groton)
1999 – Bloomfield
1998 – Bloomfield
1997 – Daniel Hand (Madison)
1996 – Weaver (Hartford)
1995 – Cheshire
1994 – Cheshire
1993 – Cheshire
1992 – Cheshire
1991 – Notre Dame (West Haven)
1990 – Derby
1989 – Ansonia
1988 – Stratford
1987 – East Catholic (Manchester)
1986 – Trumbull
1985 – Hillhouse (New Haven)
1984 – Middletown
1983 – Ansonia
1982 – St. Joseph’s (Trumbull)
1981 – Naugatuck
1980 – Trumbull
1979 – Newington
1978 – Amity (Woodbridge)
1977 – Trumbull
1976 – Fitch (Groton)



Anonymous Anonymous said...

Too bad Masuk. Look's like Xavier's the best.

January 3, 2011 at 11:45 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home